DCMS appointed new Area Chairs and Council members
Can't see the images? View this email online >
Dear Kate

Today, the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport has announced the appointment of new members of our National Council.

The new National Council includes our youngest member to date, 26-year-old spoken word poet, George the Poet. DCMS have also announced new Area Chairs for the South East, Midlands, North and South West.


I am particularly pleased that our National Council has an equal number of men and women. This is work in progress. We, and our sector must continually challenge ourselves about who is representing the public on the boards of organisations, so we can be confident we understand the interests of contemporary society.

New appointees will join us over the next few months and will replace outgoing members. Our new National Council members are:

  • Roni Brown (South East Area Chair)

  • Michael Eakin

  • Sukhy Johal (Midlands Area Chair)

  • Catherine Mallyon

  • Andrew Miller

  • George Mpanga, George the Poet

  • Elisabeth Murdoch

  • Paul Roberts OBE

  • Tessa Ross

  • Kate Willard (North Area Chair)

Members of our Area and National Councils are drawn from different roles across and beyond the arts and culture sector. Their expertise and grassroots knowledge of local developments and issues will be especially important as we develop our next ten-year strategy.

In addition to our new members we are delighted that the Secretary of State has extended the terms of David Joseph and Rosemary Squire, with Rosemary taking on a new role as South West Area Chair. Veronica Wadley will continue as Chair of our London Area Council until the summer.

I look forward to working with our new National Council and Area Council Chairs and would like to thank our outgoing Council members for their hard work and dedication to the Arts Council throughout the years.

Full profiles of our National Council members can be found here.

Best wishes,

Sir Nicholas Serota, CH 
Chair, Arts Council England

Update your email subscription preferences and personal details here. If you no longer wish to receive emails from Arts Council England, you can unsubscribe. This means you won't receive important future announcements and notifications. Unsubscribe anyway.

Arts Council England, 21 Bloomsbury Street, London WC1B 3HF. Arts Council England is the trading name of the Arts Council of England, Registered Charity No. 1036733. Arts Council England is not responsible for the contents, nor does it warrant the accuracy or reliability of, any linked website. Arts Council England, to the extent permissible by law, excludes all liability which may arise from your use or reliance on the information or contents contained in the linked site.